News Gallery The Cars About Us Street Racing Sponsors Home The Team Contact

The initial Beat the Heat Program was started by Sgt Don Robertson of the Jacksonville Florida Sheriffs Department in 1984.

In 1990, Senior Corporal Mac Sibley of the Dallas Police Department brought the program to Texas and, with the help of the Duncanville Police Department, expanded the program with two cars and built on the start that Sgt Robertson had begun. In 1991, a third team from Sulpher Springs, Texas was formed.

In 1992, the incorporated program received tax-exempt status from the Internal Revenue Service. That year, the program grew to 5 cars. This expanded to 18 cars representing 15 Police Agencies around the state of Texas in 1993.
By 1995, the program had expanded to over 35 teams representing 30 Police Agencies in Texas, Oklahoma and Louisiana.

The program continued to grow. In 2000, members of Beat the Heat Inc continued their work within schools and their communities all over the United States and Canada, reaching an estimated 1,304,000 children in the process.|

In 2003, the inaugural Australian chapter of Beat the Heat was founded by Superintendent Mark Jeffs of the Northern Territory Police Force with the formation of Beat the Heat (NT) Inc.

By 2007, the Beat the Heat Program had expanded to over 250 teams across three countries, being the United States of America, Canada and Australia.

Australia is now home to five Beat the Heat Chapters. They consist of Beat The Heat (NT) Inc. (2003), Beat the Heat (WA) Inc. (2005), Beat The Heat (QLD) Inc. (2006), Beat the Heat (SA) Inc. (2013) and Beat the Heat (Vic) Inc. (2015).
All of the Australian based programs are run by “off-duty” police officers and are designed to build alliances between young drivers and the police.

By using their common interest in motor sport, it is hoped that this interaction will bring about changes in attitudes that will encourage responsible driver behaviour and foster acceptance of the road rules in the community.